As mineral development expanded, the population of the Northwest Territories increased rapidly; between 1931 and 1951, the white population rose from less than 1,000 to 5,340. To meet the changing needs and desires of the people, the system of government underwent significant changes. The Federal electoral district of Yukon which had been sending a member to the House of Commons for 45 years, was enlarged in 1947 to include part of the Mackenzie District and was re-named "Yukon-Mackenzie River" In 1952, the Redistribution Act provided for a separate member to represent Mackenzie District.

Important developments also occurred at the Territorial (analogous to provincial) and local government levels. In 1951, the Northwest Territories Act was amended to provide for elected representation on the Territorial Council. Under the amended Act, the number of Councillors was raised to eight, three of whom were elected for terms of three years. Effective in July 1954, the Council consists of nine members, five of whom are senior federal officials appointed by the Governor in Council and four of whom are residents of the Northwest Territories elected for three years to represent four electoral districts in the Mackenzie District. The Council must hold at least two meetings a year, one of which must be in the Territories. All other meetings must be held at the seat of government at Ottawa.

At the local level, important developments have also taken place. Because it was clear that the Territories would not readily fit into the usual classification of rural and urban municipality, a flexible concept known as a municipal district was evolved. Yellowknife, in 1939, was the first district created and the second was Hay River, in 1949. It is the usual practice when a district is first created to provide that a majority of the Council members be appointed by the Commissioner and a minority elected by the residents. This is still the situation at Hay River, but Yellowknife, in 1947, achieved the position where the elected members were in a majority of five to four, with the Chairman still being appointed. In 1949, the membership was reduced to eight, five elected and three appointed, with the Council electing its Chairman from its members. In 1954, the Council became fully elective and now consists of a Mayor and eight Councillors.

In summing up the economic and political background against which the development of the Canadian North will continue to unfold, it should be emphasized that only the barest start has been made in meeting the challenge of that development. Only the first, faint imprints of civilization are beginning to appear in a land that was left almost unmarked by its generations of shifting, nomadic people. As has been suggested, it is a development that will follow unprecedented courses because the frontier is being tamed by an adult country with all the force of twentieth century techniques behind it; because it is the aeroplane and not the covered wagon that penetrates the unmapped places.

Subsection 2.-Provincial Public Lands

Public lands of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia (except the Railway Belt and Peace River Block) have been administered since Confederation by the Provincial Governments. In 1930, the Federal Government transferred the unalienated portions of the natural resources of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and of sections of British Columbia to their respective